Chief Justice Taps Judge Charlie Brown to Lead State Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission
News image Chief Justice Mark Martin has appointed the Honorable Charlie Brown, Chief District Court Judge in Rowan County, as chairman of the North Carolina Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission. Brown succeeds Judge W. Erwin Spainhour, who stepped down from the position after nearly 18 years.

“I am thrilled that Judge Brown has agreed to serve as Chair,” said Chief Justice Martin. “His extensive experience in the court system and deep knowledge of the work of the Commission will serve North Carolina well as he steps into this new role.”

Brown was first appointed to the Commission in 2008 and was reappointed four times to represent the Conference of District Court Judges. He has served on seven of the Commission’s subcommittees, including leading the Justice Reinvestment Act Subcommittee since 2011. He also represented the Commission on the Youth Accountability Task Force, created by the North Carolina General Assembly to design a plan to raise the age of juvenile jurisdiction.

“I am honored to be appointed as chair of the Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission and look forward to continuing the balanced and thoughtful approach that Judge Spainhour brought as chair,” said Judge Brown.

Brown is a past president of the Conference of Chief District Court Judges. He was elected to the district court bench in District 19C in 1998 and appointed chief district court judge in 2001. He has more than 25 years of experience in the N.C. court system, having served as a private attorney, Department of Social Services attorney, and assistant district attorney, in addition to chief district court judge. Brown will continue his regular duties as a chief district court judge in addition to his appointed position to the Commission.

View larger image

About N.C. Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission
The General Assembly created the North Carolina Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission in 1990 to make recommendations for the modification of sentencing laws and policies, and for the addition, deletion, or expansion of sentencing options as necessary to achieve policy goals. The Commission has 28 members drawn from all three branches of government; from all areas of the criminal justice system; and from the public.

Publish Date: 08/08/2017