The North Carolina Court System Home
The North Carolina Court System The North Carolina Court System
  Judicial Careers Judicial Directory Judicial Forms Frequently Asked Questions Contact Us Search Search space
Menu Citizens Section News Gray Image
Menu Courts
Menu Employees
   Home / News / Details  Print  Gray Image
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star

    Facebook button    LinkedIn button     Twitter button     YouTube button
Dotted Line
Chief Justice Sarah Parker Appoints New Chairperson to the Judicial Standards Commission
News imageRaleigh Judge Wanda Bryant has been appointed by Chief Justice Sarah Parker to serve as the Court of Appeals member of the North Carolina Judicial Standards Commission. By statute, she will serve as chairperson.

Formed in 1973, the Commission was established to consider complaints against state district, superior, and appellate court judges and justices and, where appropriate, to make recommendations for discipline.

Judge Bryant succeeds Chief Judge John Martin, who has stepped down after his service of 13 years.

Judge Bryant was appointed to the North Carolina Court of Appeals in February 2001 by former Governor Mike Easley. Prior to the Court of Appeals, Bryant served as senior deputy attorney general for the Office of the Attorney General from 1993 to 2001.

Bryant received her undergraduate degree at Duke University and achieved her juris doctor at North Carolina Central University School of Law. She is active and serves on multiple boards and commissions, including currently as a Vice-President of the N.C. Bar Association, Chair of NCCU School of Law Board of Visitors, Judicial Division Chair of the NC Association of Women Attorneys and the Friends Board of the North Carolina Museum of Sciences.

The 13-member Judicial Standards Commission is composed of seven judges appointed by the chief justice: a Court of Appeals judge, two Superior Court judges and two District Court judges. The State Bar Council appoints four attorneys, and four citizen members who are not judges or lawyers are appointed, two by the governor and two by the General Assembly, one upon recommendation of the president pro tempore of the Senate and one upon the recommendation of the speaker of the House of Representatives. The Court of Appeals judge operates as chair of the commission and serves at the pleasure of the chief justice. Other members serve a six-year term.
Publish Date: 01/09/2014
  Gray Image