The North Carolina Court System Home
The North Carolina Court System The North Carolina Court System
  Judicial Careers Judicial Directory Judicial Forms Frequently Asked Questions Contact Us Search Search space
Menu Citizens Section News Gray Image
Menu Courts
Menu Employees
   Home / News / Details  Print  Gray Image
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star
Image Star

    Facebook button    LinkedIn button     Twitter button     YouTube button
Dotted Line
Conference of Superior Court Judges Meets
News imageOn Monday, October 22, the North Carolina Conference of Superior Court Judges met at the School of Government of the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill to start three days of continuing judicial education and sharing of common professional concerns. The purpose of the Conference of Superior Court Judges is to promote professionalism, proficiency, and collegiality among North Carolina judges.

Approximately 139 regular judges, special judges, emergency judges, retired judges, and appellate court judges and justices attended the meeting. Appellate judges attending included the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Honorable Sarah Parker, as well as Justices Mark Martin, Robert Edmunds, and Robin Hudson. From the Court of Appeals, Judges Sanford Steelman and Samuel J. Ervin, IV, also attended.

The education program included several presentations on legislative changes to the criminal sentencing law and new regulations for probation supervision. Presenters included retired Judge Roger K. Warren, president emeritus of the National Center for State Courts; Anne Precythe of the State Division of Adult Correction, Section of Community Corrections; and School of Government Professors Jamie Markham, Ann Anderson, and Jessica Smith.

Members of the conference who have died during the past year were remembered by the presentation of memorials. The conference honored Judges Christopher M. Collier of Iredell County, Harry Canaday of Johnston County, and Herman (Butch) Zimmerman of Davidson County.

At the Wednesday afternoon session of the meeting, Judge Jesse Caldwell of Gaston County began his year as president of the conference. Judge Caldwell is senior resident superior court judge for district 27A and has been a superior court judge for 19 years. He had been the public defender for Gaston County and had also engaged in the private practice of law. Judge William Z. Wood, Jr., of Forsyth County ended his year in office and is now the past president.

Judge James Carlton Cole was chosen to be president elect. The secretary of the conference is Judge Patrice Hinnant. Judge Marvin Pope of Buncombe County serves as treasurer. The members of the board of directors of the conference are Erwin Spainhour, Jay D. Hockenbury, Mark E. Powell, W. Osmond Smith, James Ammons, and retired Judge Douglas Albright, Sr.

Information provided by Senior Resident Superior Court Judge Beverly Beal. Photo provided by Superior Court Judge Hugh Lewis.
Publish Date: 11/28/2012
  Gray Image